Monthly Archives: April 2015

Dana Tech Glossary

  • Backup – This is the act of creating a full duplicate of everything on your device including settings, photos, apps, etc. You can backup an iOS device to iTunes by plugging your device into either a Mac or Windows computer that has iTunes installed on it. You can also backup an iOS device to iCloud by navigating to the iCloud settings on the device itself and turning on backup. This also requires having enough space in iCloud. iCloud is the recommended way for backup because it will do it automatically for you every day. To backup a Mac computer you can use Time Machine, which is included with the computer. This requires an external hard drive to copy information to. iCloud and iTunes Backup – Apple Knowledge Base

 

  • iCloud – This is the term used by Apple to  describe it’s collection of services that sync content between Apple devices. iCloud includes back up, photo sharing, contacts & calendar syncing, etc. Essentially iCloud is the intermediary between all of your devices that makes sure you have the content you need regardless of what device you are currently using. This does require an internet connection to sync content from device to device and you have the ability to specify what information you want synced. Example: You have personal photos on your phone that you don’t want to share with your iPad, but you want to share notes from the Notes app between both devices. You can disable photos and enable Notes in the iCloud settings. iCloud Resources – Apple Knowledge Base

 

  • iCloud Photo Library – This is a newer feature of iCloud that was released with iOS 8. The iCloud Photo Library offers iPhone, iPad and Mac users to store their entire photo library in iCloud. This can often require purchasing more iCloud storage depending upon the number of photos in your library. You have the ability to ‘Download and Keep Originals’ (best quality) of the photos locally on your device or you can set it to ‘Optimize iPad Storage’ (recommended) which will keep the photos in iCloud. It will download some often viewed photos and as you open photos they are downloaded. iCloud Photo Library – Apple Knowledge Base

 

  • Photo Sharing – This is a feature of iCloud that allows Apple users to share and comment on a collection of photos with other Apple users. This allows you to organize a group of photos into an album on an iPhone, iPad or Mac that you can then share with friends or family member who also has an Apple device. You will need an e-mail address or phone number of the person you want to share with. You can allow ‘subscribers’ of this shared album to comment on photos and add their own photos. iCloud Photo Sharing – Apple Knowledge Base

 

  • Photo Stream – This is a service that is part of iCloud that will automatically sync the last 30 days of photos or up to 1000 photos between your devices. Photo stream is not a permanent storage for your photos. When you take a picture on an iPhone or iPad it is always saved to your Camera Roll and then Photo Stream will keep a copy that you can access another iOS device of Mac. iPhoto and the new Apple Photos app will automatically import and permanently save those photos on the computer. Photo Stream – Apple Knowledge Base

 

  • Syncing – This is the concept that the same piece of content is the same on multiple devices. Example: You have an iPad and a Mac both running the latest versions of iOS and Mac OS X. Create a document in the Pages app on your iPad and if you have iCloud Drive enabled on both devices your Pages document will be synced to your Mac. If you Make a change on the same document on your Mac, those changes will show up on your iPad. Syncing can apply to many other types of content including photos, calendars, contacts, etc.

Gatekeeper on OSX

What is Gatekeeper?

Gatekeeper helps protect your Mac from apps that could adversely affect it.

Some apps downloaded and installed from the Internet could adversely affect your Mac. Apps downloaded from the Apple App Store and Identified Developers are automatically permitted to run. Other apps that you can verify that were obtained form a legitimate source can be manually verified to run. Once you verify an application, it will be permitted to run every time.

Gatekeeper Deny

If an application is not from the Apple App Store, or an Apple identified developer, you will see this dialog when the application attempts to run.

gatekeeper-deny

 

Allow an App

You can explicitly allow an application to run. Please be sure you know where you obtained this application, and that it was from a legitimate source. Also please be conscious of weither this application is necessary for your Dana workstation.

Hold the “control” key on your keyboard, then click on the Application’s icon.

You will be presented with a contextual menu with several options.

Select “Open”.

allow-an-app

Confirm App

After selecting “Open”, you will be presented with a dialog that will allow you to confirm this application to run.

This dialog will confirm the name of the application, and what application downloaded it and when.

If you are sure you would like to run this application, click “Open”.

confirm-app

Additional Information

Additional information about Gatekeeper can be found on Apple’s support website at: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202491