Dana Lab Workstation Login

danauser Lab and Cart workstation access

Dana Hall is changing the way the general use Apple workstations in the Labs and Carts are configured. This will improve overall stability for everyday tasks. We are moving to a single user model for everyday access, with specific “projectuser” accounts to be set up for ongoing student projects that require storage of files on the workstation. Students will still be required to save to the Student’s file server instead of the local Desktop or Documents folders.

Log in

media_1361814884701.png

Log in as either “danauser” or “projectuser”
“danauser” has no password
“projectuser” password would be issued to you by your teacher

Connect to shares

media_1361814994345.png

Connect to “Student_Homes” or “Student_Groups” via the shortcuts in the Dock.

Connect to shares

media_1361815034947.png

When prompted, enter YOUR personal Username and Password, then click “Connect”.

Access shared volumes

media_1361815248580.png

The Server volumes will mount to your Desktop for easy access.

Access your personal data.

media_1361815301476.png

Access your files by opening the “Homes” share, then find your User folder from the list. You can then see your individual Desktop, Documents, Movies, etc.
Do not save files to the Desktop folder of the workstation, as they will be deleted permanently when the next user logs in.
If you need to save a file and the “Homes” share is not available, save to the “Documents” folder on the workstation and contact the Tech Department immediately.

**TIP** When browsing the list of student usernames, type the first few letters of your username and the selection will jump to your name.

Log out to end your session

media_1361816666027.png

When you are finished with your session on this computer, select “Log Out danauser…” from the Apple Menu.